Southwestern Law School Los Angeles, CA

News Release

Drooz, Frackman and Hoberman Feted at Biederman Awards Event November 02, 2012
Drooz, Frackman and Hoberman Feted at Biederman Awards Event

As one of the top entertainment law schools in the country, Southwestern recognized three outstanding attorneys for their contributions to the entertainment and media industries, the legal profession and legal education, at the recent Donald E. Biederman Entertainment and Media Law Institute Awards Reception. Thomas H. Hoberman '75 received the award for Outstanding Alumnus in Entertainment and Media Law; Deborah Drooz '85 was recognized as Outstanding Adjunct Professor in Entertainment and Media Law; and Russell Frackman received the Donald E. Biederman Legacy Award.
Hosted by Southwestern's Entertainment and Intellectual Property Alumni Association (SWEIP) and the Biederman Institute, the reception was held on October 26 at the SLS Hotel in Beverly Hills. Proceeds from the event will help establish the groundbreaking Entertainment and the Arts Legal Aid Clinic at Southwestern.

"Tom, Deb and Russ all personify excellence in everything they do - as lawyers and members of the legal community, as friends of the Southwestern family, and as people," said Professor Steve Krone, Director of the Biederman Institute. "We simply could not have a better slate of honorees."

Tom Hoberman and his brother David Hoberman
Tom Hoberman with his brother David Hoberman

Thomas Hoberman was honored as Outstanding Alumnus in Entertainment and Media Law, an award given to a Southwestern alumnus for "exceptional accomplishment in the entertainment and media industries and significant contributions to the legal profession, the community and Southwestern." A prominent entertainment attorney, active leader in the Southwestern community and philanthropist, Mr. Hoberman is a partner in the firm of Hansen, Jacobson, Teller, Hoberman, Newman, Warren, Richman, Rush & Kaller LLP and chair of Southwestern's Board of Trustees.

Broder, Hoberman and Krone
Broder, Hoberman and Krone

Robert Broder presented the award to his long-time friend and colleague, Mr. Hoberman. "Tom is a senior and well-respected member of the entertainment bar who represents several iconic figures in the entertainment industry and many of the leading actors and writers working today," Mr. Broder said. "He is not only an excellent lawyer, he is also an extraordinary and wise counselor who assists his clients and friends in making the right choices....He gives generously of his time and financial support to organizations and leaders who work on behalf of the public good. And he will often assist or represent someone without taking a fee, asking only in return that a contribution be made to an appropriate charity."

Mr. Hoberman thanked Southwestern and the Biederman Institute for the honor, saying, "I truly care about this institution, the students, faculty and staff and the school's stature in our community - especially the entertainment program - recently determined to be among the best in the country."

Lind and Drooz
Lind and Drooz

Deborah Drooz, a shareholder in the firm of Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP, was honored as Outstanding Adjunct Professor in Entertainment and Media Law. The award recognizes "a member of the Southwestern adjunct faculty who teaches courses in entertainment, media, sports or intellectual property law and has demonstrated outstanding commitment to teaching and mentoring Southwestern students."

"I consider it one of my proudest achievements as an educator, to be able to say that I taught Deb Drooz defamation and privacy law," Southwestern Professor Robert Lind said when he presented her with the award. "She is one of the top plaintiffs' defamation attorneys in the country. As a professor, she has demonstrated an ability to create extraordinary relationships with her students who rightfully feel privileged to have learned from her."

Upon receiving her award, Professor Drooz recalled how she was grateful to have had the late Don Biederman as a professor and was "so pleased and proud to be asked by him to come back to the law school to teach." She said she continues to "greatly enjoy her students and appreciate their insight with a question or comment that makes [me] stop in my tracks to consider."

Frackman and Biederman
Frackman and Biederman

Russell J. Frackman, a partner at Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP, received the Donald E. Biederman Legacy Award, an honor which recognizes a highly respected member of the bench or bar who upholds the highest standards of ethics and professionalism as a leader in entertainment and media law.

"Russ Frackman is a gentleman-lawyer who embodies many of the wonderful personal and professional qualities for which my dad was known and loved," said Jeff Biederman, who presented the award to Mr. Frackman. "Russ was also a dear friend of my father's. It is most fitting that he is the first recipient of the Donald E. Biederman Legacy Award."

As he was a close friend, client and partner of the late Donald Biederman for more than three decades, this tribute is a particularly meaningful one for Mr. Frackman, who spoke of how honored he was to be the first recipient of this special award. "Those of us who were privileged to know and work with Don appreciate that his legacy reflects the highest standards of professional conduct and legal expertise that he brought to the practice of law and as founding director of the Entertainment and Media Law Institute at Southwestern that now bears his name," he said. "Don was a man whose integrity, talent and contributions to the legal profession inspired me and should inspire all of us who practice law."

Honorees with Eric Early and Dean Austen Parrish
Frackman, Drooz and Hoberman with Eric Early, president of SWEIP, and Dean Austen Parrish

Click here for additional information about the honorees. Sponsors of the event included: [Platinum Level] Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck LLP, Hansen, Jacobson, Teller, Hoberman, Newman, Warren, Richman, Rush & Kaller LLP; and  Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP; [Gold Level] Early Sullivan Wright Gizer & McRae LLP: [Silver Level] Helen & Ken Kleinberg & The Berle Adams Foundation; Howard Kurtzman '79 and Sharon Klein; Professor Robert Lind; Ziffren Brittenham LLP: [Bronze Level] Melinda Benedek; The Hoberman Family; Cindy '00 and Neville '75 Johnson; Debra Leathers, Associate Dean for Institutional Advancement; Loeb & Loeb LLP; Roger Lowenstein and Barbara Corday; Tamara D. Moore, Associate Director of the Biederman Institute; and Neil Ollivierra '07.

Click here for photos from the event.