Southwestern Law School Los Angeles, CA

News Release

Former Senator Gordon Smith '79 to Head National Association of Broadcasters September 29, 2009
Former Senator Gordon Smith '79 to Head National Association of Broadcasters

The Hon. Gordon Smith '79, a Senior Advisor in the firm of Covington & Burling LLP and former two-term U.S. Senator from Oregon, has been selected as the new president and CEO of the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB). He will begin leading the premier advocacy organization for broadcasters on November 1. In an announcement from the NAB, the organization's Board Chairman Steve Newberry said, "We conducted an exhaustive search to identify the very best individual to lead a great trade association. We're convinced we have found that person in Gordon Smith. His background as a lawyer, a statesman, and as an entrepreneur - coupled with his extensive knowledge of broadcast issues from having served many years on the Commerce Committee - make Gordon eminently qualified to represent the interests of free and local broadcasters in Washington."

Smith served in the U.S. Senate from 1996 to 2008, where his committee assignments included the Senate Commerce Committee, the panel that oversees all broadcast-related legislation. Widely respected for his ability to successfully reach across party lines, Smith also served on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, the Senate Finance Committee, and the Senate Foreign Relations Committee. His role on the Commerce Committee and as the Chairman of a Senate High Tech Task Force helped foster his interest in new media and technology issues.

Prior to entering politics, Smith practiced law in New Mexico and Arizona before returning to Oregon to direct the family-owned Smith Frozen Foods business in Weston, Oregon. Smith Frozen Foods is now a $50-million-a-year enterprise, and one of the largest frozen foods companies in America. In 1992, he was elected to the Oregon State Senate and served as Senate President in 1995 before running for the U.S. Senate.