Southwestern Law School Los Angeles, CA

News Release

Southwestern Professors Win Prestigious Writing Award May 23, 2007
Southwestern Professors Win Prestigious Writing Award

Professor Warren Grimes and Professor Emeritus Lawrence Sullivan have been named winners of the Fifth Annual Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Fund Writing Award for their treatise, The Law Of Antitrust: An Integrated Handbook. They will be presented with this honor at the meeting of the American Antitrust Institute at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. on June 21.

The treatise was initially published in 1999 and is now in its second edition (2006). It is widely used by law students and practitioners both in the United States and abroad, offering a comprehensive treatment of rules, principles, and issues relating to antitrust law to meet the needs of both students and practitioners. In the second edition, Professors Sullivan and Grimes cover new areas, treat a number of areas more fully, and thoroughly reassess core concepts like monopolization and horizontal and vertical restraints.

"I'm proud and very pleased to receive this honor," Professor Sullivan said. "And I had a great co-author."

The award recipient(s) must meet several standards. Articles, books, or monographs considered for the prize have to be published within 12 months of the selection and should: "reflect a concern for the principles of economic justice, the dispersal of economic power, the maintenance of effective limitations upon economic power or the federal statutes designed to protect society from various forms of anticompetitive activity." Past honorees have included authors and scholars from Princeton, Boston, Columbia, and Yale Universities.

Board of Trustees members of the Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Charitable Trust select a six-person committee to determine the winner each year. This year's committee includes: Professor John J. Flynn, Hugh B. Brown Professor of Law, College of Law, University of Utah; Professor Eleanor Fox, New York University; Charles P. Goodwin, Esq., Berger & Montague, Philadelphia; Michael Mirarchi, Esq., Fine Kaplan & Black, Philadelphia; Professor Steven Salop, Georgetown University Law Center, Washington, D.C.; Daniel A. Small, Cohen, Milstein Hausfeld & Toll, Washington, D.C.; and Ann C. Yahner, Esq., formerly with Cohen, Milstein, Hausfeld & Toll, now an Administrative Law Judge for the District of Columbia.

"The selection committee is made up of distinguished antitrust professors and antitrust practitioners," Professor Grimes said. "To be selected by this group is indeed an honor. But neither the treatise nor its wide recognition could have happened without the seminal work of Larry Sullivan. Larry's original 1977 treatise has been cited frequently by the Supreme Court and was the foundation and the inspiration for our collaborative work."

This award is named for Jerry S. Cohen, an attorney, who practiced as a lifelong advocate of economic justice and co-authored the best-selling books America, Inc. and Power, Inc. Cohen was a founding partner in the law firm of Cohen, Milstein, Hausfeld & Toll of Washington, D.C., New York City, Chicago and Philadelphia. Throughout his career, he specialized in private enforcement of antitrust laws and other measures to protect consumers and was a principal founder of the Committee to Support the Antitrust Laws.

"It's a wonderful acknowledgment of the outstanding quality of research being produced by our nationally recognized scholars," said Michael Dorff, Associate Dean for Research at Southwestern. "Professors Grimes and Sullivan are inspiring role models for our talented and highly productive junior faculty."