Full-Time Day J.D.

in Professor Catherine Carpenter's office

Students who choose Southwestern's traditional full-time day program are committing to three academic years of full-time study. During this time, they pursue a broad-based legal education with opportunities to focus on a particular area of the law, such as entertainment, criminal, international, commercial, family law, or tax, among others.

All first-year students participate in the designated curriculum. Second- and third-year students combine required courses with a wide range of electives and externships to tailor a program suited to their interests and goals. Students in the traditional full-time day program at Southwestern find that the program is rigorous, the sense of shared purpose is intense - and the rewards are extraordinary.

Students who enroll in the day division should be prepared to devote substantially all of their time to the study of law. Students take the designated curriculum of 31 units during their first year and a load of 10 to 16 units each semester thereafter (see chart below). A minimum of 87 units is required for graduation.

Required Courses for Full-Time Day Program

Courses Fall Units   Spring Units
     Civil Procedure I & II 2   3
     Contracts I & II 3   2
     Criminal Law 3   -
     Academic Skills Lab I & II 1   1
     LAWS1 I & II 3   3
     Torts or Property 4   4
     Elective2 -   3
     Total 16   16
     Business Associations 4 or 4
     Constitutional Law I & II 3   3
     Evidence 4 or 4
     Constitutional Criminal Procedure 3 or 3
     Legal Profession 2 or 3 or 2 or 3
     Professional Skills Requirement 1, 2 or 3 or 1, 2 or 3
     Experiential Requirement 65 or 65
     Upper Division Writing Requirement 2 or 3 or 2 or 3

1. Legal Analysis, Writing and Skills
2. Elective choices include such courses as Constitutional Criminal Procedure, Copyright Law, Legal Profession, and American Legal History, among others.
3. Spring Semester
4. If not taken as an elective in first year (required for graduation)
5. Student must take a total of 6 units prior to graduation